Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Heatherly, Irigoyen, and Jurney Named to All-State Team

Heatherly, Irigoyen, and Jurney Named to All-State Team

For Immediate Release – 12/19/15 - #142
Heatherly, Irigoyen, and Jurney Named to All-State Team

BRIDGEWATER, VA – On Friday, the Virginia Sports Information Directors (VaSID) released its 2015 College Division All-State men's soccer teams, and three WildCats found themselves honored.  Blake Heatherly, Cristian Irigoyen, and Troy Jurney were all placed on the First-Team.

Heatherly caps off a great year with a spot on the First-Team for the first time in his career.  He switched to the midfield during the season, and the team's offense took off.  He scored eight goals, which tied for second in the Old Dominion Athletic Conference (ODAC).  He assisted on nine more, which gave him 25 points.  Both totals also finished second in the conference.  In addition to the All-State honor, he was also named First-Team All-ODAC and Second-Team All-South Atlantic Region.

Irigoyen earns his first All-State nod after being a lynchpin on the backline for the WildCats.  He started every game in the back and continuously snuffed out opposing attacks.  Irigoyen proved to be essential on the attacking front as well.  He was the primary player used for throw-ins, reaching the box on the majority of them.  He added two goals and one assist during the year.  Irigoyen also earned a spot on the All-ODAC First-Team.

Jurney also makes his first appearance on the All-State squad.  He led the ODAC in assists (11) and points (27) while dominating on the left flank all year.  He ran all over opposing defenses and added eight goals, tying Heatherly for the most on the team.  Jurney continuously ran around defenders and sent perfect crosses into the box.  He forced one own goal, and almost had two others.  He was named First-Team All-ODAC and Third-Team All-South Atlantic Region.

The full team and awards:

Player of the Year             Ben Bayles, Washington and Lee University
Coach of the Year              Mike Singleton, Washington and Lee University
Rookie of the Year             Rick Perrault, Virginia Wesleyan College.


All-State First Team

Patrick Burns, Christopher Newport University
Troy Jurney, Randolph College
Freddy Flores, Lynchburg College

Ben Bayles, Washington and Lee University
BlakeHeatherly, Randolph College
Harry Nodwell, Christopher Newport University

Sean Christein, Christopher Newport University
Patrick Barry, Washington and Lee University
Cristian Irigoyen, Randolph College
Dio Beck, Roanoke College
Nate Berning, Lynchburg College
Rodney Ngoh, Marymount University

Nolan Mann, Christopher Newport University


All-State Second Team

Rob Lentine, Roanoke College
Juan Luna, Eastern Mennonite University
Ricky Perrault, Virginia Wesleyan College
Jordan Couch, Emory & Henry College

Mike Bennett, University of Mary Washington
Tyler Carbaugh, Roanoke College
Logan McHugh, Randolph-Macon College

Kevin Gidari, Bridgewater College
Jack Maxey, Randolph-Macon College
Bobby Seifert, Christopher Newport University

Matt Spencer, University of Mary Washington